11th international CAN Conference

In September 2006, the 11th iCC took place in Stockholm, Sweden. The presented papers comprised the topics network design recommendations, applications, software developments, and tools. Workshops completed the conference program.

Vector Informatik sponsored the 11th iCC.


Session I: Application
Chairperson: Prof. Dr. Gerhard Gruhler (STA Reutlingen)
Bruce Decker (Schneider Electric): Improving and testing CiA 401 for the next generation of I/O devices
Sinisa Marijan (Koncar Institute): CANopen implementation in the Zagreb tramcar
Renji Chacko (CDAC): CAN-based distributed real-time control in hybrid electric vehicles
Session II: Physical layer
Chairperson: Christian Schlegel (Ixxat)
Stephan Rohr (Refu Elektronik): Switch, minibridge and multiplexer for optical and electrical mixed Controller Area Networks (CAN)
Heikki Saha (Sandvik Tamrock): Active high-speed CAN hub
Jean Yves Berenger (NSI): Contactless CAN interface: A standard for aftermarket automotive
Session III: Implementation
Chairperson: Florian Hartwich (Robert Bosch)
Alan Devine (Freescale Seminconductor): Implementation of automotive CAN module requirements
Aniket Bhattacharya (John Deere): Establishing feasibility of isolating higher-layer protocols for CAN into reconfigurable hardware
Jari Savolainen (Helsinki Polytechnic Stadia): Object-oriented, open environment with Linux for hydraulic boom controller
Session IV: Gateway
Chairperson: Heinz Jürgen Oertel (Port)
Cuneyt Bayilmis (University of Kocaeli): Implementation of a CAN/IEEE 802.11b WLAN/CAN internet working system using a wireless interface unit
Christian Schlegel (Ixxat): Enlarging CANopen application with Ethernet Powerlink
Tobias Lorenz (Robert Bosch): Fibex gateway configuration tool chain
Heinz Schaffner (Schneider Electric): CANopen gateway functionality in distributed I/O systems
Session V: Time-triggered
Chairperson: Dr. Mikael Nolin (CC Systems)
Chris Quigley (University of Warwick): Design approaches for integrating CAN with emerging time-triggered protocols
Valter Silva (University of Aveiro): Using FTT-CAN to the flexible control of bus redundancy and bandwidth usage
Lars-Berno Fredriksson (Kvaser): CAN for time-triggered systems
Session VI: System design
Chairperson: Holger Zeltwanger (CAN in Automation)
Heinz-Jürgen Oertel (Port): Rapid prototyping for CANopen system development
Jürgen Klüser (Vector): Test requirements in networked systems
Dr. Ralf Machauer (Bosch Engineering): CAN configuration within Autosar
Session VII: Software
Chairperson: Lars-Berno Fredriksson (Kvaser)
Dr. Anne Kramer (Sepp Med): “Faust” – A fully configurable automatic software test system
Glenn Bergqvist (Danaher Motion Särö): Software service tool for electric vehicle system
Peter Sjödin (CC Systems): CANopen Net – Programming-less interconnection between GUI- and control-application
Session VIII: Special environment
Chairperson: Jochen Weiland (Schneider Electric)
Ralph Knüppel (Airbus Deutschland): Smoke detectors interfaced by a safety-critical aircraft-based CAN network
Graham Taylor (BAE System): CAN implementation on Terrier
David Saul (BP): Subsea instrumentation interface standardization in the offshore oil and gas industry